‘Unhappy’ minister stops nine Sri Lanka ODI cricketers leaving for India


Nine players were on their way to Colombo airport late on Monday for the overnight flight. Sri Lanka sports minister Dayasiri Jayasekera was unhappy with the team choice.


Sri Lankan sports serve Dayasiri Jayasekera ceased nine cricketers leaving for India on Tuesday to participate in a one-day arrangement. Sources said that troubled with the group decision.

The nine players were headed to Colombo air terminal late Monday for the overnight flight, when they were requested to return. One of the group told AFP on state of secrecy.

Document picture of Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera. Reuters Document picture of Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera. Reuters

Whatever is left of the squad are now in India partaking in a Test arrangement. Sri-Lankan cricket is in tumult. The national side has lost 21 one-day diversions this year and won only four.

Games service sources said Jayasekera was angered that the players had been cleared to leave before he had given formal endorsement to the group determination.

A 1973 law gives the Sri Lankan sports serve the ability to change national groups previously they contend.

The service sources said Jayasekera may arrange no less than two changes to the squad named by the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board.

The nine players halted from leaving were driven by Thisara Perera. He was just named chief a week ago.

The other eight are Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Check Also

MS Dhoni's Retirement

“Consider me as retired” MS Dhoni Retires from International Cricket

4 (5) On Saturday, MS Dhoni made the announcement of his retirement on an Instagram …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *