Previous Cricket World cup Winners


World Cup Winners List


World Cup winner


West Indies


West Indies








Sri Lanka











The above table depicts the winners of the world cup title so far.

cricket world cup, previous world cup winners

A total of 11 editions of the world cup took place in different venues in these year’s.

As you can see there has been a significant Cup winning team which has won the Cup for 5 times in total and made a hat trick winning the Cup 3 times in a row, it is none other than Team Australia.

Australia has won the Cup very precisely is 5 times and is a very competitive team in the world cup. This team was first formed in the year 1877 and had played Test matches since then. Being one of the oldest existing team it is considered as a skilled team in a match.

For this World Cup the team is lead by Aaron Finch, a high order batsman who has won the Man of the Match in the World Cup 2015 with a score of 135 runs. Finch opted to move out of IPL to prepare for the World Cup 2019.
Clearly , the next winning team is India and West Indies as both the teams have won the World Cup twice.
India won the world Cup in the year 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and again in the year 2011 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

An all-rounder with the record of taken around 400 wickets and around 5000 runs in the test matches.
He retired in 1994, with the world record for the highest number of wickets taken in Test cricket, a record which was broken by Courtney Walsh in the year 2000. At the time, he was India’s highest wicket taker in both major forms of cricket. He is the first person to pick 200 ODI wickets.

Under Dhoni’s captaincy, India won the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, 2007–08 Commonwealth Bank Series, the 2010 and 2016Asia Cups, the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. Dhoni is an attacking right-handed middle-order batsman and wicket-keeper, he is widely popular as one of the greatest finishers in limited-overs cricket.

This time the Indian Team is led by Virat Kohli for the 12th edition of WorldCup. Kohli holds the world record as the fastest batsman to have scored 10,000 runs in just 205 innings.

Virat Kohli says this time the World Cup is going to be different game according to him. The duo of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are going to be destructive to the rivals.

West Indies had won the tournament when all the set up of the World Cup tournament was new. This team consecutively won the world cup in the year 1975 and 1979.The team of West Indies is a collective team from the 15 territories of Carribean which actually belong to different countries. It has been the strongest team in the past . Some best players like Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs ,Andy Roberts,Brian Lara and so many are from the West Indies team.

For this World Cup the West Indies team is led by Jason Holder as the captain and Chris Gayle as the Vice Captain.
Moving on we have a victory in the world cup by the team Pakistan in the year 1992 which by ked by Imran Khan who is now the present prime minister of Pakistan. Pakistan won the Cup against England.Sarfaraz is the current captain of the Pakistan cricket team for the World Cup 2019. Sarfaraz was named as Twenty20 International captain for Pakistan following the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 later he was named Pakistan’s ODI Captain on 9 February 2017 after Azhar Ali stepped down the captaincy.

Sri Lanka also has won the World Cup title in the year 1996 soon after the victory of Pakistan. This victory was against the team Australia. Sri Lanka won the World Cup in 1996 followed by the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 (along with India), and the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014. They have been runners up in the year 2007 and 2011 cricket world cups.

For this World Cup 2019,the captain for the Sri Lankan Cricket Team is Dimuth Karunaratne. The World Cup in England and Wales begins on 30 May, with 1996 winners Sri Lanka starting their campaign against New Zealand in Cardiff on 1 June.

With 10 amazing teams filled with the hunger of victory are going to set fire on the field on the month of May, for the World Cup 2019 tournament.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Check Also

Indian cricketer ‘Ambati Rayudu’s sudden and shocking retirement!

5 (1) This Wednesday Ambati Rayudu, the Indian Cricketer decided to step away from all …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *