Copa America, Road to Quarterfinals – As it happened!


Copa America, Road to Quarterfinals - As it happened! 3

This year’s tournament is to be held in Brazil, this is the fifth time the South American country has been hosting the Copa America. This caps a successful decade of sporting the events which are held in Brazil, having hosted Olympic games and FIFA World cup in Rio de Janeiro.

This country will be hosting 26 games at 6 venues in almost five cities, with the final to held at Maracana in Rio on 7th of July. This tournament will be organised by Conmebol, the South American football will be the governing body.

Messi’s Argentina advanced to the year 2019 Copa America semi-finals immediately after defeating Qatar 2-0 on Sunday to clinch for their first win of the tournament, qualifying as Group B runners-up behind Colombia.
Even Lautaro Martinez scored after four minutes to set Lionel Scaloni’s side on its way for their quarter-finals, and as Sergio Aguero scored a second late on to seal a quarter-final fixture to the opposite Group A runners-up Venezuela.

As El Tricolor ended their Group B campaign with a slim 1-0 win over Paraguay to stay perfect in their pool, and they will face whoever finishes at the second in Group C i.e.Chile, Uruguay or Japan.

And Gustavo Cuellar scored his maiden goal for Colombia to secure the spot in the next round of contest, by progressing past the group stage for the fourth Copa America in succession.

This 46th edition of Copa America will now take place this summer as the South America’s best teams fight it out for only the continental crown.

The heavyweights of the world football such as the countries Argentina and Brazil will now lock horns with tournament’s most successful team, Uruguay.

With few of the best players in the world on their display, Lionel Messi, it will now boast a unique allure, with the continent’s Joga Bonito philosophy being strongly imbued.

Chile is the defending champions after winning the 2016 Copa America Centenario in the United States.
La Roja, then tried to managed by Juan Antonio Pizzi, by defeating Argentina on their penalties in the final. It was Chile’s second consecutive title, following their maiden triumph in the year 2015.

After the sides, which were not being separated in regulation or any extra time, the game now went to penalties, and then Chile triumphed 4-2 in the shootout, with Francisco Silva scoring the winning spot kick.

Lionel Messi, failed to convert his spot kick, was famously retired in the aftermath. This was his third consecutive defeat in the final of a major tournament after having lost in the previous year’s Copa and the year 2014’s World Cup against Germany, and it was his fourth overall with Argentina

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Check Also

ronaldinho-retirement | Ronaldinho Brazil

Ronaldinho’s retirement closes the door on the career of one of football’s true stars

0 (0) Ronaldinho Gaucho has announced his retirement from soccer at aged 37. He played …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *